Heeley City Farm is working with Tinsley Junior School, Wessex Archaeology and Sheffield Local Studies Library and Archives to investigate the history of the Tinsley manor house, possibly buried underneath the school field. The project is based at Tinsley Junior School where the whole school is working with professional archaeologists to discover and interpret the history of the manor house.
The manor house was built in the 11th or 12th century; it was the residence of the local lords and surrounded by a park and woods covering 413 acres. The manor was rebuilt in the 14th or 15th century, possibly by the de Tyneslaw family. Tinsley was an important part of the 18th and 19th century industrialisation of Sheffield. As a result the area became heavily populated and soon needed more public services. In the early 1960s the old manor house, which by this time had become a farm, was demolished to enable the construction of Tinsley Junior School. Nothing of the manor house survives above ground so the project but through archival research and geophysical surveys, it will be possible to map the underground remains in preparation for excavation.
The pupils have been busy undertaking their archival research this week including the deciphering of names on a Tinsley rent roll from 1667 (pictured above).Pictured top right: Manor House Farm, Tinsley (also known as Needham's Farm), No 150, Bawtry Road, Tinsley (Picture Sheffield: s06421).